LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Home

Women's and Gender Studies

This guide is for students enrolled in the Women's and Genders Studies course. This guide contains a list of key terms that you can use to search the library catalog, databases, and ebook collection. While these terms are not all encompassing, they will give you a starting point for your project.

Helpful hints:

To begin your research, do some basic internet searching (start with Wikipedia) to gain familiarity with the terms connected to your search topic.
Once you have some key terms, transition to the databases. If you're getting back tons of results, try connecting terms to narrow your search. For example, searching for "transgender people" and discrimination.
Pay close attention to subject headings on books you find and key terms when you find articles applicable to your research. This can help you discover additional terms to use when you search.

Key Terms

gender identity

intersexuality

sex differentiation

sex differences

transexuals

queer theory

gender nonconformity

transgender people

gay culture

homosexuality

race discrimination

diversity

sex roles

feminism

sex discrimination

racism

social classes

poverty

feminists

Finding Sources

To find books in the library collection, search the library catalog. The catalog also searches connected databases and our ebook collection.

eBook Central is our eBook collection. The collection should show up when you search the library catalog, but I would recommend searching the individually. You may be prompted to create an account within the database before searching the eBook collection.

Academic Search Premier is a database that covers a variety of subjects.

Academic Search Premier
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Marketing Technology and Online Learning Director

Brittany Torres

Email Me

Recommended Books

All of these books are available for checkout in the library.

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides 813.54 E87m

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Allison Bechdel 741.597 B391f

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates 305.8 C652b

Stamped from the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi 305.8 K33s

Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America by Barbara Ehrenreich 305.569 E33n

A Room of One's Own included in The Feminist Papers: From Adams to de Beauvoir 301.412 R831f

Gender Identity: Beyond Pronouns and Bathrooms by Maria Cook 305.3 C771g

About Gender Identity Justice in Schools and Communities by S.J. Miller 370.81 M647a

Gender Identity, Sexual Orientation, and Sexual Assault: Challenging the Myths by Corina Schulze, Sarah Koon-Magnin, and Valerie Bryan 362.883 S391g

Born Gay: The Psychobiology of Sex Orientation by Glenn D. Wilson and Qazi Rahman 306.76 W748b

Nonbinary: Memoirs of Gender and Identity edited by Micah Rajunov and Scott Duane 305.3 N812r

Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Makings of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940 by George Chauncey 305.38 C498g

The Beauty Myth: How Images of Beauty Are Used Against Women by Naomi Wolf 305.42 W854b

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie 305.42 A235w

Bad Feminist: Essays by Roxanne Gay 814.63 G285b