The library has access to a variety of databases. The databases are the best way to search for peer reviewed research in your subject area.
Database Search Tips
You can't search databases in the same way you would search Google. It is important to use the same terminology the database uses to yield positive search results. If you find an article that relates to your research, check the subject headings the database uses to index the article. Consider using those terms in your next search.
Connect subject terms with AND, OR, and NOT.
Always read the abstract (summary of the article) to see if it relates to your topic.
E-mail articles to yourself.
Always double check the database automated citations.
Academic Search PremierDesigned specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
